Theft & Larceny Attorneys in Burlington, NC
If you or someone you love has been charged with theft or larceny in North Carolina, the first thing you need to do is ensure you have the right criminal defense team to litigate the case. Smith Giles Attorneys at Law has years of experience providing legal assistance to those charged with theft and larceny in Alamance County. Contact our team to set up an initial consultation and get the expert criminal defense team you need to fight your case.
Understanding Theft & Larceny Laws in North Carolina
Classification for Theft in North Carolina
Under North Carolina law, theft and larceny crimes vary in severity depending on the details of the crime itself. Below is an outline of how larceny is classified in North Carolina.:
- Class 1 Misdemeanor Larceny: This applies to theft of property valued at $1,000 or less
- Class 2 & 3 Misdemeanor Larceny: Cases are classified as Class 2 or 3 misdemeanors if it is either first or second shoplifting offense (also referred to as “concealment of merchandise”)
- Class H Felony Larceny: You may be charged with a Class H felony if you have taken property from another person that is valued at more than $1,000
Class H felonies also apply to those who stole property via breaking and entering, or if the stolen items were firearms, explosive devices, or any official records in the possession of the North Carolina State Archives. Consult with your theft and larceny attorney to better understand your charges and what legal options may be available to you.
Penalties for Theft in North Carolina
The penalties for larceny depend on the classification of the crime. Let’s take a look at what sentences may occur if you are charged with theft or larceny in North Carolina:
- Class 1 Misdemeanor Larceny Penalties: If there are no prior convictions, the sentence for a Class 1 misdemeanor larceny charge ranges from 1 to 45 days of imprisonment
- Class 2 Misdemeanor Larceny Penalties: If you have shoplifted more than once in the past three years, you will be charged with a Class 2 misdemeanor and subject to imprisonment for at least 72 hours, or you may be asked to perform at least 72 hours’ worth of community service
- Class 3 Misdemeanor Larceny Penalties: Offenders may receive a suspended sentence of incarceration only if they complete 24 hours’ worth of community service
- Class H Felony Larceny Penalties: Those who are charged with a Class H felony may receive between 4 and 8 months’ imprisonment
Keep in mind that having the right legal team to navigate your case can impact the outcome of your sentencing. Contact Smith Giles to get the legal counsel you deserve!
Frequently Asked Questions About Theft & Larceny in North Carolina
How is theft defined in Alamance County?
North Carolina categorizes theft and larceny as the same, and there is actually no reference to the term “theft” in their criminal statutes. Larceny is defined as stealing or taking any “chattel, property, money, valuable security, or other thing whatsoever.”
Does property value affect theft and larceny penalties?
Yes — as aforementioned, theft of property valued at more than $1,000 changes the criminal charges from a misdemeanor to a felony and can result in a longer term of imprisonment.
Smith Giles for Theft & Larceny Defense in Alamance County
Being charged with larceny is hard enough without worrying about how to defend yourself. At Smith Giles, we act an ally for clients in Burlington, Elon, Graham, Mebane, and even Greensboro, doing everything in our power to defend your larceny case and get you the desired outcome. Contact our team to set up an initial consultation today!